Advancing National Security

The Government has announced the formation of a committee that will address the future of National Security in St. Kitts and Nevis.

At a ceremony at the Police Training School on Wednesday Attorney General the Hon Vincent Byron announced the formation and approval of a National Security Strategy Formulation Committee.

The committee will devise a National Security Strategy Policy which will determine methods to be used and how resources are allocated when it comes to addressing crime.

The committee is led by former Minister of National Security, Dwyer Astaphan.

The other members include retired Assistant Commissioner of Police, Joseph Liburd, Governor of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank, Timothy Antoine, drug prevention officer Newrish Nital, Acting Director of Youth Empowerment, Pierre Liburd.

The other members are Pastor Lincoln Hazel, Errol Wilkinson, Michelle Delacoudrey Blake, and Donald Cable.

The committee will have until the end of December to submit a report on what they’ve accomplished.

Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of National Security, Osmond Petty said the formation of this committee is only part of the National Security Architectural Framework.

The next steps include the development of the actual national security strategy and a review of all of the security agencies.

You might also like