Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority (ECCAA) celebrates seven (7) years

Mr. Donald McPhail

The Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority (ECCAA) will celebrate its 7th anniversary as an autonomous Civil Aviation Authority serving the OECS Member States on 1st December 2011. The Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority is guided by the motto “Aviation Safety through Service and Partnership.”

Director General (Ag) of the ECCAA Mr. Donald McPhail says the purpose of this recognition is to promote the importance of civil aviation in the social and economic development of states in general and of the OECS Member States in particular where the availability of air transportation is critical. McPhail states that the most significant contribution of the ECCAA to the people of the OECS over the past seven years has been safety in transportation.

The ECCAA evolved from the Directorate of Civil Aviation (DCA) – Eastern Caribbean States established in 1957. From inception, the Directorate was seen as a vehicle for facilitating a collective and uniform approach to civil aviation matters affecting the then Windward and Leeward Islands, which now comprise the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS).

In 1961, the primary responsibility of the DCA was revised to “to advise the Governments of the Windward and Leeward Islands on all matters relating to Civil Aviation including airfields and airport development, the implementation of ICAO conventions and the adequacy of air services.”

ECCAA Inspection

In 1982, the Directorate became an Institution of the OECS through the Treaty of Basseterre, which established the OECS. At the 35th Meeting of the OECS Heads of Governments, in 2002, the Heads decided that: “a fully autonomous body should be established with the responsibility to regulate civil aviation activities within OECS Member States.”

Acting upon this mandate, in October 2003 at St. Georges, Grenada, the OECS Ministers responsible for civil aviation signed the Agreement establishing ECCAA; however, this agreement had to be given legal effect through Acts of Parliament in OECS Member State. By October 2004, five Member States had passed the Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Agreement which signaled the ECCAA’s birth.

Today, the ECCAA regulates Civil Aviation in six (6) of the OECS States: Antigua and Barbuda, St. Kitts and Nevis, Dominica, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Grenada; and provides Communications, Navigation and Surveillance (CNS) services to the above mentioned States as well as to Montserrat, Anguilla and the British Virgin Islands.

On this special occasion, we at the Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority express our sincere thanks and gratitude to all our partners and the public in general for their support and prayers for continuous blessings as we celebrate our 7th anniversary on 1st December 2011.

You might also like