Leeward Islands suffer humiliating loss

The dark clouds and rain that loomed ominously over Queen’s Park Oval and caused a delayed start to the match were a portent of things to come for the Leeward Islands, who crashed to a historic 160-run defeat at the hands of Combined Campuses and Colleges. Chasing CCC’s 240, Leeward Islands could only muster 80 in reply, their lowest total in the West Indies 50-over regional tournament. CCC claimed a bonus point for bowling Leeward Islands out for less than 192.

The previous low in List A cricket for Leeward Islands was 94 against Trinidad & Tobago in 2011 and the new mark could have been much worse had they not conjured a 44-run last wicket stand after they were reduced to 36 for 9 by an incisive spell of fast bowling from Kyle Mayers. The 21-year-old took Man-of-the-Match honours with 4 for 15 in 8.4 overs, bowling unchanged from the start of the second innings. The only thing standing in the way of a five-wicket haul for him was cramp, which forced him to leave the field before he could finish his full quota of overs.

The only player in the top nine who made double digits for Leeward Islands was opener Montcin Hodge with 10. Lionel Baker top scored with 31 not out, the highest score for a Leeward Islands No. 10 batsman in List A cricket.

CCC laid the foundation for victory by grafting out 240 in 49.5 overs, a score which CCC coach Curtly Ambrose felt was “25 or 30 runs short” at the innings break but proved to be more than enough. Chadwick Walton and Anthony Alleyne engineered a 57-run stand for the first wicket before Walton was run-out when Alleyne turned down a run after Walton nudged to square leg

Summarized scores: Combined Campuses and Colleges 240 (Alleyne 54, Martin 3-33) beat Leeward Islands 80 (Baker 31*, Mayers 4-15) by 160 runs

In am match played on Sunday 2nd February Barbados edged out Trinidad and Tobago by 28 runs

Summarized Scores:

Barbados Innings: 269/8 (50 Overs). Jonathan Carter 109, Dwayne Smith 83, Shane Dowrich 35, Rashidi Boucher 13; Rayad Emrit 9-0-51-4, Dwayne Bravo 8-1-31-1, Imran Khan 4-1-22-1, Kevon Cooper 9-0-56-1.

Trinidad & Tobago Innings: 241 All Out (43.3 Overs). Denesh Ramdin 48*, Darren Bravo 40, Lendl Simmons 37, Jason Mohammed 32; Suliemann Benn 9-1-31-4, Jason Holder 8-1-29-3, Dwayne Smith 2.3-0-14-1, Carlos Brathwaite 7-0-35-1.

You might also like