Team Unity Government to Find Ways to Immortalize More of the Nation’s Outstanding Citizens

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts, September 17, 2019 (Press Unit in the Office of the Prime Minister) – Seventeen outstanding nationals were on Monday, September 16, announced as recipients of annual National Awards—with five receiving the Companion of the Star of Merit and 12 receiving the Medal of Honour.

However, Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable Timothy Harris indicated at Monday’s commemorative ceremony in honour of St. Kitts and Nevis’ five National Heroes that there are still many individuals whose stellar contributions to nation building should be recognized and appreciated by all.

Prime Minister Harris stated that his Government will make determinations in the future “regarding how it can immortalize the contribution of several other persons who have inspired our nation.”

The prime minister mentioned persons such as sports icon, Kim Collins; Kenrick Georges, the author and composer of our national anthem; Elston “Ellie Matt” Nero, musician and calypsonian extraordinaire; Keith “Kayamba” Gumbs and Atiba Harris in sports, as well as Zack Nisbett in culture and heritage.

“Heroes are important for the task of anchoring and building a nation,” Dr. Harris said. “This is so whether they are political or religious leaders, entertainers, or athletes. They serve a purpose in our society and they help to give our people hope and provide examples for success. Through the story of their successes, (and indeed their failures too, other people can understand their talents and limits thereof and their will to succeed. Others are inspired by their heroism and moral leadership.”

You might also like