CWI and WIPA Host Another Successful Celebration of West Indies Players: Dottin and Holder Win Big; Retired Players Put On A Legendary Show

ST JOHN’s, Antigua – Cricket West Indies (CWI) and the West Indies Players’ Association (WIPA) treated their players to a grand celebration with the 7th Annual CWI/WIPA Awards at Sandals Grande in Antigua on August 19. Pleasingly, the ceremony was attended by the West Indies senior men’s and women’s teams, a West Indies President’s XI and a number of retired players.

Deandra Dottin, who became the number-one-ranked ICC allrounder in Women’s T20 in February, claimed the three major awards for the women; West Indies Women’s Player of the Year, West Indies Women’s ODI Player of the Year and West Indies Women’s T20 Player of the Year.

West Indies men’s captain Jason Holder, who in February became the top-ranked ICC Test allrounder, received the top awards West Indies Player of the Year and the West Indies Test Player of the Year, with Shai Hope copping the West Indies ODI Player of the Year, an award Shai also won in 2018.

A total of twenty awards were presented at this year’s ceremony, with the inaugural West Indies Groundsman of the Year Award granted to Jamaican Charles ‘Charlie’ Joseph for over 50 years of service to Jamaica and West Indies cricket. Umpire of the Year went to Joel Wilson, while Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Keith ‘Tony’ Marshall (CWI) and Sudesh Dhaniram (WIPA).

On August 20, retired West Indies players rolled back the years with a Legends T20 match, put on by the West Indies Retired Players’ Foundation (WIRPF), led by Chairman Patterson Thompson. The match between the Antiguan Legends and West Indies All Stars was geared towards assisting retired players, and provided a fitting avenue for camaraderie. The West Indies All Stars won the match, after Daren Ganga put on 77 not out and Miles Bascombe 43 not out to take the All Stars to 175/6. The Antiguan Legends treated the impressive crowd to 46 from 16 balls from Sylvester Joseph and 31 from Sir Richie Richardson, but only managed to amass 151/8.

The full list of awards reads:

  1. West Indies U-19 Team of the Year: Guyana
  2. West Indies Rising Stars U-19 Player of the Year: Joshua Bishop
  3. Atlantic/WIC Player of the Year: Antonio Ganpath
You might also like

Deprecated: Directive 'allow_url_include' is deprecated in Unknown on line 0