Parsons Domino Club retains Constituency #7 Domino League championship

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, November 22, 2019 (PLP PR Media Inc.) — Parsons Domino Club has successfully defended the Constituency Number Seven Dr the Hon Timothy Harris Domino League championship title, which they first won last year, after gallantly coming from behind to beat Saddlers Domino Club 14-11 in the deciding final game held on Thursday November 21 at the Lodge Community Centre in Lodge Project.

Saddlers Domino Club painfully encountered the classic nightmare of ‘snatching defeat from the jaws of victory’, not once but twice in a row after losing the second game in the best of three finals on Tuesday November 19 in a similar fashion.

Saddlers had a comfortable 6-0 lead, but were slowed down by the coolness of Parsons’ players who came from behind to level the game at 9-9, 10-10 and finally 11-11. At that point the game could have gone either way, but Saddlers squandered a golden chance to take a game they were leading 56-0 points.

The game started at 7:50 pm with Cremoy Agard as the referee for table one, and Joy Osborne as the referee for table two. Saddlers came with all guns blazing, drawing the first blood in the battle for the first games at each of the tables. First win came from table two which had Steven Gilbert and Ephraim Henderson. Table one, through Keithroy Eddy and Cleon Walters, gave Saddlers the second game.

Table two scored another three games and table one scored a game to have Saddlers lead 6-0. But the tide changed at 9:00 pm when on table one Colonel Mills and Jedediah Locker of Parsons attainted 113 points before Saddlers’ players could win a single point, giving the defending champions a bonus game for their first two games against the six by their opponents.

The blow had not been anticipated by the Saddlers players, Keithroy Eddy and Cleon Walters, who vacated the table and were replaced by Timoy Phipps and Dahimain Caines. Parsons scored another game from table two, but Saddlers quickly added a game from table two to have the scores at 7-3 in favour of Saddlers at break time.

During the course of the game, Delroy Liburd would have acted as the second referee for table two. He vacated his position before the match was over and was replaced by Keithley Gaskin. On table one, referee Cremoy Agard was assisted by the official scorer Hope Bradley who acted as a referee when she was not busy on the board tallying the points.

After the break Parsons got a game from table one, Saddlers followed with a game from table two, after which Parsons added two games from table one and a game from table two to add the number of games they won to seven. But Saddlers surged ahead and won a game from table one to take their tally to nine games.

Before Saddlers could celebrate the two-game gap they were ahead of Parsons, at 10:41 pm Melvin Gumbs and Ashton Williams of Parsons on table two attained 110 points before their opponents could earn a single point, thus earning the defending champions a second bonus game to tie the game at 10-10 at which point all the players (from both teams) vacated their tables for what was an unofficial break.

On resumption Saddlers surged ahead by winning a game from table two, but the temporary lead was cancelled by a win by Parsons from table one to tie the game at 11-11.

On table two, Kyle Huggins and Marc Williams of Parsons came from behind 0-56 points to win the game at 108-56 points to take the total to 12-11 games in their favour. While that was happening, on table one their colleagues Colonel Mills and Jedediah Locker were clinically decimating Saddlers players and at 11:48 pm they attained 125 points before Saddlers could win a single point to earn the defending champions a bonus game to push the final score to 14-11 games, and the championship.

Domino action continues on Tuesday November 26 at the Lodge Community Centre in Lodge Project from 7:30 pm when champions Parsons Domino Club will face the Best-of-the-Rest Champions, Small Corner Bar Domino Club, for the classic ‘Champion of Champions’ encounter.

The Constituency Number Seven Dr the Hon Timothy Harris Domino League, which is the longest running domino league in the country, is sponsored by Prime Minister and Area Parliamentary Representative for St. Christopher Seven, Dr the Hon Timothy Harris.

You might also like