Anguilla, Guyana, CARICOM, CCCU and UWI send congratulations

St. Kitts and Nevis Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil Douglas (left) and President of Guyana, His Excellency Bharrat Jagdeo (photo by Erasmus Williams)

ST. KITTS, FEBRUARY 4, 2010 (CUOPM) – Guyana and Anguilla are the latest Caribbean nations to send congratulations to St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas on his re-appointment as Prime Minister following his Labour Party’s re-election for a fourth consecutive term.

President of Guyana, His Excellency Bharrat Jagdeo, whose St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party won six of the eight seats on St. Kitts extended warm congratulations to Prime Minister Douglas on his resounding success.

“Your historic reelection as Prime Minister demonstrates the confidence of the people of St. Kitts and Nevis in your ability to lead their country on the path to prosperity and I wish you continued success as you embark on this new term to consolidate your programme of economic and social development for St. Kitts and Nevis,” said the Guyana leader.

President Jagdeo added that he looks forward to working with Prime Minister Douglas in furtherance of the interest of our two countries and the people of our region.”

Anguilla’s Chief Minister Hon. Osborne Fleming in expressing congratulations told Prime Minister Douglas the fact that his Government has been victorious for a fourth consecutive term “is testament to the overwhelming confidence which the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis continues to repose in your administration.”

“As our region continues to grapple with the effects of the global financial crisis, I am confident that your strong leadership with the support of your colleagues will see your country through these tough economic times,” the Anguillan leader said as he wished Dr. Douglas and his new administration prosperity and success.

Secretary General of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), His Excellency Edwin Carrington in his message to Prime Minister Douglas noted that the people of St. Kitts and Nevis have “reaffirmed their confidence in your leadership by electing you to serve a fourth consecutive term .”

“In doing so, they have entrusted you with the critical task of continuing to lead the country on its path to sustainable development and overcoming the many obstacles,” said the region’s top civil servant.

Chief Minister of Anguilla, Hon. Osbourne Flemming

Dr. Carrington said the Caribbean Community looks forward to Prime Minister Douglas’ “continued guidance and leadership in the Community’s quest to deepening regional integration” and pledged its “unstinting support to your Government and the people of St. Kitts ad Nevis as we strive towards the advancement and strengthening of the Caribbean Community.”

Vice Chancellor E. Nigel Harris, in expressing congratulations on behalf of the entire University of the West Indies community, said the people of St. Kitts and Nevis “have declared in no uncertain terms their satisfaction with your leadership and have vested in you their confidence for another term of office.”

The senior university official said he looks forward to continuing to work with Prime Minister Douglas to develop the human potential of St. Kitts and Nevis and in other national and regional development activities.”

General Manager of the Caribbean Confederation of Credit Unions (CCCU), Mr. Ralph Wharton expressed congratulations on behalf on the Board of Directors and its 17 affiliated Leagues.

“Your success for a 4th consecutive term demonstrates confidence that the people of St. Kitts and Nevis have in your party and your astute leadership. Your effort to improve the quality of life of your citizens and ensuring economic empowerment at every level of the social strata has definitely borne fruits,” said the CCCU General Manager.

Mr. Wharton told Prime Minister Douglas that the affiliates of the St. Kitts-based CCCU “are certain that you and your ministers of government will endeavour to carry out the mandate of the people of St. Kitts and Nevis based on accountability and good governance, two fundamental areas that lead to success.”

He added that as the Apex organisation for regional co-operatives, the CCCU looks forward to a collaborative approach with the Fourth Denzil Douglas Labour Administration “in your thrust at creating an enabling legislative environment for the Cooperative Movement.”

The St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party, first elected to office in July 1995, was returned to office with 60 percent of the votes on St. Kitts in the January 25th 2010 general election.

It won six of the eight seats on St. Kitts to two for the People’s Action Movement (PAM) of Mr. Lindsay Grant. On Nevis, the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) of the Hon. Vance Amory retained its two seats, with the third seat going to the Hon. Joseph Parry’s Nevis Reformation Party (NRP).

You might also like