Four Windies players are co-owners in Canada T20 league

TORONTO, Canada (CMC) — Four of the biggest names from the West Indies cricket team have signed a deal making them co-owners in the new Canadian Premier League T20 set for next year.

The four are one-day captain Dwayne Bravo, Test captain Denesh Ramdin, opening batsman Kieran Powell and former captain Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

The deal arrives ahead of the countdown to the inaugural North American league tournament scheduled to commence on August 1st, next year.

“I fully support the growth and development of international-calibre T20 cricket through the Canadian Premier League and the direction being taken by Roy Singh, the League’s founder and CEO,” said Ramdin, recently appointed West Indies Test team Captain.

“Roy has the vision, determination and drive to make this League truly successful and sustainable and I am thrilled to be coming on board as part of such a pioneering venture for the North American market.”

The 10-team League will consist of professional cricketers from around Canada, alongside global cricketing superstars from across the world, League officials have confirmed.

The Canadian Premier League’s management committee includes Singh, a successful Toronto-based entrepreneur who serves as CEO and Chairman, Chanderpaul, a director of the company while Bravo, Ramdin and Powell will serve as co-owners.

Former Toronto Star reporter, Bob Mitchell has been appointed President while Emma Everett, managing agent to Bravo, Ramdin and Powell and Sir Richie Richardson, will serve as Head of Global Player Operations.

“The Canadian Premier League is already creating waves of excitement within the international cricketing community,” said Powell.

“What makes the League stand out is Roy Singh’s brilliance and initiative in carving out a niche market in this region and ensuring that the business model surrounding his League is based on longevity that centres around a real passion for growth and development of the game”.

You might also like