Ottley’s Football Club retains Constituency Seven Community Football League title

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, October 21, 2019 (PLP PR Media Inc.)  — Ottley’s Football Club on Saturday evening October 19 came from behind to overcome a determined Tabernacle Football Club whom they beat 2-1 to successfully defend the Constituency Seven Community Football League (C7CFL).

In an entertaining game played on the Ottley’s play field under floodlights, both teams had to overcome a mildly slippery field and ball earlier in the game following a passing drizzle before the game started.

While Ottley’s were mostly on the attack remaining on the Tabernacle half most of the opening period, it was Tabernacle that drew the first blood when Sylvester Alexander found the back of Ottley’s net in the 30th minute.

Ottley’s, with a vociferous home crowd cheering them on, upped their game and in the 44th minute Vinroy Nelson equalled the score. Tabernacle got into a defensive mode but that did not stop the marauding Ottley’s players pushing for a second goal which came in the 47th minute with Keithroy Freeman taking the honours.

Referee for the final game was James Matthew, who was assisted by Tyrone Nisbett and Florentine Morton. To get to the finals Ottley’s had beaten Shock Them from Cayon, while Tabernacle had beaten Dieppe Bay in the semi-finals.

According to Vaughn Patrick, Co-ordinator of the Constituency Seven Community Football League (C7CFL), eight teams from Constituencies Number Seven, Number Six and Number Eight took part in this year’s competition. They were Dieppe Bay, Saddlers, Tabernacle, Christchurch, Molineux, Lodge, Ottley’s, and Shock Them of Cayon.

The Constituency Seven Community Football League, which is sponsored by Prime Minister and Area Parliamentary Representative for Constituency Number Seven, Dr the Hon Timothy Harris, was inaugurated in 2017 with its major accomplishment aimed at fostering community togetherness.

Christchurch Football Club was the inaugural champion, beating Tabernacle in the finals. Last year Ottley’s edged out Tabernacle to take the championship which they successfully defended on Saturday evening, October 19, taking with them the Dr Timothy Harris trophy and $5,000 first prize cash award.

Second placed Tabernacle received a $2,500 prize cash award. The game for third and fourth place between Shock Them of Cayon and Dieppe Bay was not played as Dieppe Bay was a no-show. As a result, Shock Them received the $1,5000 third prize cash award.

Prize giving ceremony was done on the Ottley’s basketball and netball hard courts, where Chairman of the C7CFL Organising Committee Lenworth Harris brought greetings from sponsor of the league, Prime Minister Dr the Hon Timothy Harris who was in Washington, DC, attending IMF meetings.

The Chairman of the C7CFL Organising Committee also thanked officials who worked tirelessly to make the tournament the success it was, and all the teams that participated and the many spectators who turned up for all the matches starting with preliminaries, to semi-finals, and the finals.

You might also like