PM Harris: National Awardees helped to write New Chapters in the story of St. Kitts and Nevis

Basseterre, St. Kitts — “Your pioneering work has inspired many…You have helped to write new chapters in the story of St. Kitts and Nevis and for this our Federation is eternally grateful.” So said Prime Minister Dr. the Hon. Timothy Harris in congratulatory letters to the nine outstanding men and women who were given national awards this year for their invaluable contribution and sterling service to national development.

The Star of Merit (SM) was bestowed on Mr. Washington Archibald (Education); Mr. Richard Caines (Business); and Mrs. Marjorie Morton (Public Service).

The Medal of Honor (MH) was conferred on Mr. Theodore Hobson (Law); Mr. Maurice Widdowson (Heritage and Conservation); Mrs. Sylvia Garnette (Nursing and Healthcare); Mr. James ‘Barman’ Hanley (Sports and Community Service); Mr. Winston Skeete (Sea Transportation); and Mr. Ivan Hanley (Law Enforcement).

“I congratulate all of these our fellow citizens whose respective outstanding contributions in the fields of business, nursing, law, nautical matters, heritage matters, law enforcement, governance and sport are being recognized and acknowledged,” Prime Minister Harris said in his National Heroes Day address in St. Paul’s where the awards were first announced.

“Let their spirit of enterprise, achievement and commitment inspire us to do likewise and in our several capacities as fellow citizens, we must do our part in nation building. May God continue to bless our people and country…A Happy National Heroes Day to all!”

You might also like