Prime Minister Harris leads federal delegation to opening session of Nevis Island Assembly

(Press Unit in the Office of the Prime Minister) – St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister, Dr. the Honourable Timothy Harris, led a federal delegation to the sister island for the opening session of the Nevis Island Assembly and the Delivery of the Throne Speech at the Assembly Chambers at Hamilton House earlier today.

Prime Minister Harris was joined by Cabinet colleagues Deputy Prime Minister, the Honourable Shawn Richards; Senior Minister, the Honourable Vance Amory; the Honourable Ian Patches Liburd and the Honourable Wendy Phipps. Also on hand to witness the opening session was Speaker of the National Assembly, the Honourable A. Michael Perkins.

Members of the Loyal Opposition, led by its leader the Right Honourable Dr. Denzil Douglas, were conspicuously absent for the auspicious occasion.

Tuesday’s session was the first sitting of the Assembly after the December 18, 2017, local elections on Nevis, which saw the election of the Honourable Mark Brantley-led Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) to public office.

After the House was called to order, the Honourable Mark Brantley, the fourth Premier of Nevis, as well as his Cabinet colleagues took the Oath of Allegiance, before the election of president.

With unanimous support, Farrel Smithen was nominated and sworn in as the President of the legislative body.

The Throne Speech was delivered by Acting Deputy Governor-General, Her Honour Mrs. Marjorie Morton, C.S.M.

The Assembly’s gallery was filled with family members, government officials, primary and secondary school students and supporters of the CCM-led Nevis Island Administration.

You might also like