The Federation Establishes Diplomatic Relations With the Republic of Rwanda

London, England 15th February 2019 – In a brief and warm ceremony at the St. Kitts and Nevis High Commission in London; High Commissioner, His Excellency Dr Kevin M. Isaac and Her Excellency Ms. Yamina Karitanyi, High Commissioner of the Republic of Rwanda signed a joint communique officially establishing diplomatic relations between the two nations.

The joint communiqué which formalises diplomatic relations between the two countries marks another highpoint in the Government’s efforts to progress its commitment to developing mutually beneficial partnerships and expand diplomatic engagement with the Governments and people across the African continent.

High Commissioner Isaac took the opportunity to reiterate Foreign Minister Brantley’s desire to deepen relations within the African Community, bilaterally and through the African Union. He also thanked High Commissioner Karitanyi for her government’s leadership in the African Union as well as its friendship and partnership within the Commonwealth. St. Kitts and Nevis and Rwanda are seated together in international organisations and have a history of working together. Dr Isaac congratulated High Commissioner Karitanyi and the Government of the Republic of Rwanda on having been selected to host the Next Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in that country’s capital city, Kigali in 2020.

The High Commissioner of the Republic of Rwanda applauded the establishment of diplomatic relations and thanked His Excellency Dr Isaac for always being a friend to Rwanda and for his wisdom and guidance at the Commonwealth.  Her Excellency committed to work towards enriching the bilateral relationship in London and beyond and accepted High Commissioner Isaac’s invitation to visit St. Kitts and Nevis later this year as the Republic of Rwanda seeks to build stronger linkages and partnership with the countries of the Caribbean.

The Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis and the Republic of Rwanda signed a reciprocal visa exemption agreement in 2018.

You might also like