West Indies Women’s squad for tour of Sri Lanka

St. John’s, Antigua — The Selection Panel of the West Indies Cricket Board announced on Tuesday, a 14-member West Indies Women’s squad for their tour of Sri Lanka.

The tour comprises four One-day Internationals, the last three of which will count towards the ICC Women’s Championship, and three Twenty20 Internationals.

The ICC Women’s Championship is a multi-year, bilateral competition between the top eight international women’s sides that will lead to qualification for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup to be hosted by the England & Wales Cricket Board.


Merissa Aguilleira (Captain)
Stafanie Taylor (Vice-Captain)
Shemaine Campbelle
Shamilia Connell
Britney Cooper
Deandra Dottin
Afy Fletcher
Chinelle Henry
Stacy-Ann King
Kycia Knight
Hayley Matthews
Anisa Mohammed
Subrina Munroe
Tremayne Smartt

Team Management Unit

Vasbert Drakes (Head Coach)
Ann Browne-John (Manager)
Ezra Moseley (Assistant Coach)
Oba Gulston (Physiotherapist)
Dave Bernard Sr. (Fitness Trainer)
Trent Sargeant (Performance Analyst)


Three members of the side that played in the previous ICC Women’s Championship series in Australia will not be making the trip.

The three are left-handed all-rounder Shanel Daley, who has been sidelined with a knee injury; leg-spinner Shaquana Quintyne and medium-fast bowler Shakera Selman.

Earning recalls to the squad are the experienced duo of Stacy Ann King and Afy Fletcher, as well as rookie all-rounder Chinelle Henry.

The 31-year-old King, a left-handed batsman and left-arm medium-fast bowler, has made 53 One-day International and 61 Twenty20 International appearances for the Windies Women. Her previous international appearance was a Women’s World Twenty20 semi-final against reigning World champions Australia last year in the Bangladesh capital of Dhaka.

Fletcher, aged 28, will be making her first trip with the women’s side in six years. She has appeared in 13 ODIs and two T20Is between 2008 and 2009, with her last international a Super Six match against England Women in the 2009 ICC Women’s World Cup in Australia.

The 19-year-old Henry has appeared in two ODIs and four T20Is between October 2013 and February last year before losing her place in the side.

The squad will also welcome a new coach – former West Indies fast bowler Vasbert Drakes replacing the long-serving Sherwin Campbell, the former West Indies opener, who has guided the side for the last seven years.

Also joining the team management unit are physiotherapist Oba Gulston and fitness trainer Dave Bernard Sr. Both have worked with various territorial and West Indies sides in recent times.

The squad is set to depart from Barbados on Wednesday, arriving two days later in the Sri Lanka capital of Colombo, where they will begin nine-day training camp before the start of the series.

Schedule of Matches

(Start times in brackets; all times are local)


Wed 13      First One-day International – Premadasa Stadium, Colombo (10 am)

Fri 15      Second IWC One-day International – Premadasa Stadium (10 am)

Sat 16      Reserve Day

Mon 18      Third IWC One-day International – Premadasa Stadium (10 am)

Tue 19      Reserve Day

Wed 20      Fourth One-day International – Premadasa Stadium (10 am)

Thu 21      Reserve Day

Sat 23      First Twenty20 International – Premadasa Stadium (10 am)

Mon 25      Second Twenty20 International – Premadasa Stadium (10 am)

Tue 26      Third Twenty20 International – Premadasa Stadium (2 pm)

You might also like