7 receive Warren Tyson Scholarships

(ZIZ News) — 7 high school students have been inducted into the TDC Warren Tyson Scholarship Programme.

The programme provides support for students from first form up to the end of their studies at the Nevis Sixth Form or the Clarence Fitzroy Bryant College.

The induction ceremony was held at the TDC Conference Room on Saturday.

Chief Education Officer Tricia Esdaille praised TDC for their continuous support of students’ education.

“It’s important that children have other sources of support and mentorship. And TDC’s commitment to providing that is something that we recognize and we actually look forward to,” she said. “Many of the children who have been participants of this programme have gone on to be very successful and we believe that a major part of that is the support that they receive here”

Chairman and CEO of TDC Group of Companies Earle Kelly said investing in the youth is important to the future of the nation and TDC will continue to make that investment.

“We really think it’s a very important programme, especially at this time when we have a lot of issues with the youth in the community. And we’ll continue to make that investment because an investment in the youth is an investment in the country, and it’s a worthwhile investment,” he said.

The scholarship recipients are Daniah Flemming of Basseerre High, Shaquan Payne of Charles E Mills Secondary, Kadeem Percival of Verchild’s High, Kajary Gumbs of Saddlers Secondary, Jahaziel Davis of Cayon High, and Xayveon Bradshaw of Washington Archibald High.

Warren Tyson was the first Chairman of TDC and the scholarship programme is named in his honour.

You might also like