CCJ to host its 5th Annual Mooting Competition this week

CCJ, Port of Spain — The Caribbean Court of Justice will be hosting its Fifth Annual International Mooting Competition on Thursday 14th March and Friday 15th March, 2013 at its Headquarters in Trinidad.

The Moot provides an exciting opportunity for the region’s law students to compete for the prestigious CCJ Shield while developing valuable advocacy, research and teamwork skills.

The two-day Competition is designed to increase awareness of CARICOM Treaty Law. This year’s Moot Problem focuses on the CARICOM Treaty provisions regarding the financial services industry including banking and insurance services. It requires students to consider restrictions on the movement of capital between CARICOM Member States.

Last year, the CCJ Shield was won by the team from UWI Cave Hill. This year, there are teams participating from ten Caribbean Law Schools and Law Faculties:

1. University of the West Indies, Cave Hill

2. University of the West Indies, St. Augustine

3. University of Guyana

4. University of Technology, Jamaica

5. University of the West Indies, Mona

6. Anton de Kom University of Suriname

7. Hugh Wooding Law School

8. Norman Manley Law School

9. Eugene Dupuch Law School

10. FHR Lim a Po Institute, Suriname

Observers of the Mooting Competition over the past few years have applauded the exceptionally high standard of the students’ arguments which has demonstrated excellent engagement with the issues of CARICOM Treaty law.

You might also like