Gingerland Secondary School wins 5th Imelda Wilkin / NAAP Effective Speaking Competition

ImeldaWilkinNAAPEffectiveSpeakingCompetition2013ANevis — The National Association of Administrative Professionals (NAAP – St Kitts Chapter) held its 5th Annual Imelda Wilkin NAAP Effective Speaking Competition at ECCB’s Sir Cecil Jacobs Auditorium on Thursday 31st October 2013 as part of its 32nd Anniversary celebrations. The competition brought together secondary schools with the objective to improve the public speaking skills of our high school students.

The five schools which vied for first place were Basseterre High School, Charles E Mills Secondary School, Cayon High School, Gingerland Secondary School and Washington Archibald High School. With the Basseterre High School defending the championship, the excitement was high as the students presented on the topic “The Proliferation of Mobile Technology has Proven to be More Harmful than Beneficial to Students” All the students did excellent jobs, but in the end it was the Gingerland Secondary School’s Somiche Guishard who took first place. This is the second year that Gingerland has competed, and the school’s winning efforts were rewarded with a cash prize of EC$1000 compliments of the Eastern Caribbean Home Mortgage Bank (ECHMB).

The competition was divided into a prepared speech and impromptu speech segment with the first, second and third place winners as follows:

Prepared Speech – Darenice Dedier (Cayon); Kaylor Bass (BHS); Somiche Guishard (Gingerland)

Impromptu Speech – Somiche Guishard (Gingerland); Javaughn Deeble (Washington Archibald); Kaylor Bass (BHS)

Mrs Delcia Bradley-King, Mr Loughlin Tatem and Ms Wendy Phipps were well qualified to judge this year’s competition as they brought years of training and experience in English and Public Speaking. The competition was chaired by Ms Dawn P Mills, President of NAAP and Mrs Adora Warner (NAAP) acted as time-keeper. Chief Education Officer Ms Clarice Cotton did the honours of distributing the prizes and gifts.

NAAP would like to extend its sincerest gratitude to the teachers and students, judges, officials and all the following who helped to make this event a great success: ECCB, ECHMB, O D Brisbane, Royal Logistics Ltd, Sky Safari Tours, Marshall’s Fine Dining, Cisco’s Restaurant, Mr Skeete (Sea Hustler), Richard Caines, Lois Harris, Dominos, Warner’s One Stop, Ileta Fulton, Ministry of Education and Members of NAAP.

You might also like