PM Douglas celebrates 15 years as Prime Minister

Hon. Dr. Denzil Douglas (right) takes the Oath of Office as Prime Minister for a fourth consecutive time on January 26th 2010. The oath is administered by Resident Judge, His Lordship Mr. Justice Frances Belle at Government House. (Photo by Erasmus Williams)

ST. KITTS, JULY 7, 2010 (CUOPM) – Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas on Sunday celebrated the 15th Anniversary of his appointment as the Second Prime Minister of the twin-island Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis. He was appointed Prime Minister on July 4th 1995. The St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party also celebrates 15 years in government.

“I have had the distinct honour of being a member of this forum for the last fifteen years. In fact today makes it exactly 15 years since I have been Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis and my party’s victory of January 25, 2010 marked the start of the 4th Consecutive time of my Prime Ministership and the St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Government,” said Dr. Douglas at the opening ceremony of the 31st Meeting of the Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) in Montego Bay, Jamaica on Sunday.

He told hundreds of invited guests including Governor General, the Most Honourable Sir Patrick Allen and Lady Allen, Host and Chairman of CARICOM, Jamaica’s Prime Minister Hon. Bruce Golding and colleague Heads that over the 15 years as a member of the CARICOM Heads of Government, he has “experienced some of our greatest challenges, but I have seen very significant achievements in response to these challenges.”

“Conferring, planning, and working with you on matters of import to our region has always been a source of great collaborative energy and productivity. As a result, these Heads of Government meetings have always represented highly valued opportunities for shared insights and analyses,” said Prime Minister Douglas, who expressed gratitude to the people of St. Kitts & Nevis, who on January 25th of this year, “very warmly arranged for my now 15-year collaboration with you, as CARICOM Heads of Government, to continue.”

Prime Minister Douglas also welcomed new colleagues attending the CARICOM Heads of Government Meeting since the last session.

“The people of Anguilla, Montserrat, Trinidad & Tobago and Suriname have been to the polls as well, and so I take this opportunity to once again to express, on behalf of the Government and people of St. Kitts and Nevis, and also on my own behalf, sincere congratulations and best wishes to the Honorable Reuben Meade (Montserrat), Honourable Hubert Hughes (Anguilla), and the Hon. Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago. I know that we all wish you, your Governments, and the people you now lead, the very best,” said Dr. Douglas, who is also the most senior Head of Government of the Caribbean Community.

You might also like