Citizen of the Commonwealth of Dominica Receives 2010 ECCB/Thomas De La Rue Currency Scholarship Award

Stephanie Astaphan

ZIZ News…August 19, 2010 – The St. Kitts based Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB), in collaboration with the Thomas De La Rue Group PLC, has awarded the 2010 Thomas De La Rue Currency Scholarship to Ms Stephanie Astaphan of the Commonwealth of Dominica.

Ms Astaphan received her Bachelor’s Degree in International Politics and Economics from Middlebury College, Vermont, USA and achieved high honours for her research on dependency relations within the Caribbean.

Her primary interest is in development economics, particularly in the formulation of sustainable public policy tailored to the Caribbean circumstances. As a Thomas De La Rue Scholarship recipient, she will be pursuing a degree in International Economics and International Law.

De La Rue Group PLC is the authorised printer of the EC dollar. The scholarship, which is valued at £9,300 per year, is awarded every two years to a citizen of the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union to pursue post-graduate studies in Economics at any campus of the University of the West Indies.

Eligible applicants must have at least an Upper Second Class Honours Degree and be committed to working in the Caribbean after completion of postgraduate studies.

You might also like