Ministerial duties conferred on seven parliamentary representatives and two senators

ZIZ News…January 8, 2010 – Ministerial duties have been conferred on seven parliamentary representatives and two senators to serve the Government of St. Kitts and Nevis for the next five year term.

This follows the holding of General Elections on the 25th of January where The Labour Party was returned to office after winning six of the eight seats on St. Kitts, Peoples Action Movement two seats, the Concerned Citizens Movement two of the three seats on Nevis and the Nevis Reformation Party one seat.

Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas and five other successful Labour Party candidates along with The Hon. Patrice Nisbett of the Nevis Reformation Party took the oath of allegiance during the Swearing-In Ceremony at the Warner Park Cricket Stadium on Sunday. There was a huge applause as the Ministers arrived in a convoy led by the Police with each receiving a fanfare as they were escorted to their seats.

Resident Judge His Lordship Mr. Justice Frances Belle administered the Oaths of Allegiance and of Office on Prime Minister the Hon. Dr. Denzil Douglas as Minister of Finance, Sustainable Development and Human Resource Development, the Hon. Sam Condor Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Security, Foreign Affairs, Labour, Immigration and Social Security, the Hon. Dr. Timothy Harris Minister of International Trade, Industry, Commerce, Agriculture, Marine Resources, Consumer Affairs and Constituency Empowerment, the Hon. Dr. Earl Asim Martin was given the portfolios of Housing, Energy, Public Works and Utilities, Hon. Patrice Nisbett of the Nevis Reformation Party, Attorney General, Minister of Justice and Legal Affairs, Hon. Marcella Liburd Minister of Health, Social Services, Community Development, Culture and Gender Affairs, and Hon. Glen Philip Minister of Sports, Youth Empowerment, Information Technology, Telecommunications and Post.

The two appointed senators are the Hon. Nigel Carty who has been given the responsibility for Education and Information and Hon. Richard Skerritt Minister of Tourism and International Transport.

A number of new portfolios were announced as the St. Kitts Nevis Labour Party Government embarks on its fourth five year term in office.

The Ceremony was chaired by Mr. Junie Liburd and Ms. Wanda Connor while the opening Prayer was delivered by Father Isaiah Phillip of the St. Kitts Christian Council.

You might also like