OAS Scholarship Awardees for 2010-2011 Academic Year

OAS Director St. Kitts Nevis Starret Greene

ZIZ News…February 23, 2010 – The Organization of American States (OAS) has announced the selection of 6 candidates who are citizens of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis to receive scholarships for the Undergraduate and Graduate Academic Studies in respect of the 2010-2011 academic period.

Candidates selected at the undergraduate level were:

Yahhanna Talitha Jenkins, to pursue a Bachelor’s degree in English/Language Arts Teacher Education, in the United States, at City College of the City of New York, and Jamela Arie Warner, who will study for a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and Management, in the United States, at Midwestern State University, in Arizona.

Those selected at the graduate level were:

Clement Jumo Williams, to pursue a Master’s in Engineering/Industrial Management in the United States, Pierre Garymore Constantine Bowrin, to complete a Doctorate in Information Science in the Caribbean or North America; Donovan Herbert, who will study for a Master’s in Mathematics and Statistics, either in North America, via distance studies; and Chereca Weaver, who will pursue a Master’s in Psychology, in the Caribbean or North America.

OAS Representative in the Federation Mr. Starret Greene said he was pleased that, notwithstanding the financial challenges that have impacted negatively on higher education worldwide, his organization remained committed to supporting the aspirations of qualified candidates to further their studies in fields of specialization that will support current and future developmental needs of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis. “Investing in people and creating an enabling environment that fully utilizes and taps into their skills and expertise at the end of their training, is the most effective means to achieve high levels of sustainable development in any country”, the OAS Diplomat concluded.

OAS Scholarships for Graduate and Undergraduate Academic Studies for the 2010/2011 academic period allow for awardees to commence classes in January 2010 through March 2011. Awardees who maintain a high grade point average will be awarded scholarships for a second year.

You might also like