13 Receive Taiwan Scholarships

(ZIZ News) – Thirteen persons are preparing to take the next step in their academic lives, thanks to scholarships from the Taiwanese Government.

On Thursday night, the Embassy of the Republic of China (Taiwan) hosted a dinner and presentation ceremony at Nirvana to recognise the young men and women who had successfully applied for four and five year scholarships to study in Taiwan.

Resident Taiwanese Ambassador, His Excellency George Gow Wei Chiou said the scholarship program is part of Taiwan’s commitment to assist in the national development of St. Kitts and Nevis.

He said, “The purpose for the Taiwan Government is to help our allied countries to develop their own human resources. Therefore, I encourage each of these scholarship awardees, when you study and you receive your diploma, to come back and dedicate yourself to the development of St. Kitts and Nevis.”

Minister of Education, the Hon. Shawn Richards reminded the students that they are now ambassadors of St. Kitts and Nevis and encouraged them to learn about the culture of Taiwan.

“University education is not just about what you learn in the classroom. It is not just about the academics. You are in a different environment and I would want to encourage you, as much as possible, to consider learning the culture of a different country as part of your education,” Minister Richards stated.

Premier of Nevis, the Hon. Vance Amory also encouraged the students to absorb as much as they can from the Taiwanese way of life and use that knowledge to advance St. Kitts and Nevis when they return.

“Look at how the people live. Look at how they use their resources, their limited space to make a great country. And when you return to our country, St. Kitts and Nevis, you will then bring those new attitudes, the new skills, the new intellect to continue the development of our country,” he noted.

Eight students received scholarships from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) in Taiwan while the other five received theirs from Taiwan’s International Cooperation and Development Fund (ICDF).

The 2015 MOFA Scholarship awardees for five years of study are Andre Freeman, Kristal Phillip, Orlando Perez Liantaud, Travis Kelly, Shamika Edinborough, Shameika Prentice, Djavan Martin, and Judette Pollock-Pemberton.

The 2015 Taiwan ICDF Scholarship awardees for four years of study are Trizell Matthew, Novelia Rawlins-Nwosu, Selena Weekes, and Diandre Ottley, whose parents accepted on his behalf. Education Officer, Debbie Isaac accepted on behalf of Jherez Taylor.

You might also like