15 Receive Susanna Lee High School Scholarships

DenzilDouglas-10(ZIZ News) — The St. Christopher and Nevis Social Security Board has once again acknowledged the hard work of students within the federation.

On Wednesday, the institution awarded the Annual Susanna Lee High School Scholarship Award to 15 high school scholars at a ceremony held at the Social Security Board Room.

Minister of Social Security, Prime Minister the Right Honourable Dr. Denzil Douglas encouraged the recipients to take advantage of every educational opportunity made available to them.

He said, “It is a special moment because it celebrates that which is best about us as a nation and as a people. I want you to remember; students I want you to remember today and always that education is the greatest liberator. I want you to take every opportunity that crosses your path therefore, whether directly or indirectly to learn as much as you can, about as much as you can. Never shy away from a class because it is difficult. Never buckle to a task.”

The high school awardees for 2014-2015 are Shanice Buchanan of the Charles E. Mills Secondary School, Tyrique Harris of the Saddlers Secondary School, Aamira Williams of the Washington Archibald High School, Jackie Peets of Verchild’s High, Breandra Liburd of Charlestown Secondary and Zwena Jones of Gingerland Secondary School.

Fifth form graduates include Sheldon Richards, who was named most outstanding student for passing 12 subjects with 10 distinctions at the CXC level), as well as Romelo Davis, Tianna Bowery, Anchelle Hinds, Kianno Fraser, Arnelle Williams, Kyle Trotman and Dereka Liburd.

The Social Security Board Scholarship Programme began in 1983. In 2007 the scholarship was renamed the Susanna Lee High School Scholarship and to date boasts 188 students.

You might also like