PM Harris Announces New Government Appointments

TimothyHarris-43(ZIZ News) — Prime Minister the Hon. Dr. Timothy Harris has outlined several diplomatic appointments at local and overseas offices.

During a press conference on Wednesday afternoon, the Prime Minister announced that Sam Condor has been appointed Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the United Nations, replacing Delano Bart.

Dr. Thelma Phillip Browne has been appointed Ambassador to the United States.

The Government has also appointed Dr. Everson Hull as Ambassador to the Organization of American States and Sidney Osbourne as Ambassador to CARICOM.

Shirley Skerritt is the new High Commissioner to Canada, and Verna Morris is the new Charge D’Affairs to Cuba.

Meanwhile, in St. Kitts, Kay Bass has been announced as Acting Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Osmond Petty is the new Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of National Security.

Prime Minister Harris also announced that Vernon Connor has been named as Special Advisor in the Ministry of Youth and Lorna Hunkins is Special Advisor to the Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Michael Powell has been named Special Envoy in the Office of the Prime Minister and Jonel Powell is Special Envoy in the Ministry of Sport and Culture.

Prime Minister Harris said these appointments are all about putting the best people in the right places.

“These appointments are not about the individuals themselves, significant as they are. In my view and in our books, it is about how they will help the government take fuller charge and ensure that we deliver on the mandate and the slogan that we have adopted ‘Working for You’. It is about not their post and their rank. It’s about the people’s results,” he said.

Dr. Harris said these appointments all fall under their mandate to put the interests of the people of St. Kitts and Nevis first.

You might also like