11th Annual Prime Minister’s New Year’s Gala set for January 1, 2012

Icon Ciceley Tyson performing at the Prime Minister’s New Year’s Gala in 2004.

A section of the guests at the 2010 Gala.

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, DECEMBER 5TH 2011 (CUOPM) – The date has been set for the Eleventh Annual Prime Minister’s New Year’s Gala hosted by The Right Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas.

According to the Chairperson of the Gala Committee, Minister of Health, Social and Community Development and Gender Affairs, the Hon. Marcella Liburd, the gala event will take place at the Grand Ballroom of the St. Kitts Marriott Resort and Royal Beach Casino on Sunday 1st January 2012.

She said the featured speaker, yet un-named, will be one of international acclaim. Local and international stars will also perform at what has become a must in ringing in the New Year.

“Our theme ‘Celebration’ reminds us that despite the difficult economic realities we still have so much to celebrate and be thankful for as individuals and a nation,” said Ms. Liburd.

Tickets must be purchased no later than Wednesday 28th December 2011 and must be paid to the Prime Minister’s Gala Committee.

Attendance is by ticket only and persons can call 465-2756, 465-1047 or 662-2185 or email marcellaliburd@hotmail.com

Guest Speakers at previous galas included prominent United States Congresswoman, the Hon. Maxine Waters; Actress Cicely Tyson; Nation of Islam Leader, the Hon. Louis Farrakhan; Emmy Award Winner and Broadcaster Del Walters; Founder and President of TransAfrica, Mr. Randall Robinson; African-American icon, musician and actor, His Excellency Ambassador Harry Belafonte, Publisher and founder of America’s Black Enterprise Magazine, Earl Gilbert Graves, Sr., the late Prime Minister of Barbados, the Hon. David Thompson and former Jamaica Prime Minister and Caribbean statesman, the Most Honourable Percival J. Patterson.

You might also like