2021 Fisher, Crop & Livestock Farmers Of The Year Awarded

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts, October 25, 2021 (Ministry Of Agriculture, Fisheries, And Marine Resources) — Farmers and fishers were notably honoured for their outstanding contribution to food security during the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, and Marine Resources Annual Food Heroes  Prize giving ceremony, held at the St. Kitts Marriot Resort on Friday, October 22. 

The fishers and farmers were referred to as ‘Food Heroes’ persevered through an extremely challenging pandemic that affected agricultural and fisheries sectors globally. 

Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, and Marine Resources, Mr.  Ron Dublin-Collins gave welcome and opening remarks while FAO National Correspondent and Director of the Department of Marine Resources, Dr. Marc Williams delivered brief remarks. 

In his feature presentation, Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Marine Resources, Hon.  Alexis Jeffers highlighted the importance of food security and sustainability.  

Awards were then presented in three categories; Crop division, Livestock Division, and  Fisheries. 

Under the Livestock Division, Terrance Decosta was named Best Cattle Farmer, Cervin  Bradshaw- Best Pig Farmer, Neil Mitchell- Best Small Ruminant Farmer, Marvin Harrigan Best Poultry Farmer while Michael Bridgewater was awarded the title Best Rabbit farmer. 

In the “Highest Production Category”, Denzil Harris- Beef, Neil Mitchell- Mutton/Chevron,  Austin Richards- Pork, Elmond Richards-Eggs, and Clive Webster- Broilers. 

Under the Fisheries Category, Darwin Francis was named Best Ocean Pelagics Fisher,  Everton Samuel was named Most Reliable Supplier to Basseterre Fisheries, Stuart Laplace was recognized for Best Advances in Aquaculture while Richard Dorsette was named Best  Cooperative Fisher with the Department of Marine Resources.  

The Sandy Point Fisherman’s Marketing and Supplies Co-operative Society Limited was named Fisherfolk Organization of the Year.  

As the highlight of the ceremony, Michael Maynard was announced overall Fisher of the  Year, Terrance Decosta- Livestock Farmer of the Year, and Calvin Percival- Crop Farmer of the Year.  

The prize-giving ceremony formed part of the Ministry of Agriculture’s World Food Day  Week of Activities which were held under the theme, “Our actions are our future. Better production, better nutrition, a better environment, and a better life”. 

You might also like