3rd Annual Sports Museum Week Off To Impressive Start

Sports Page—Tuesday 9th July 2013 –The 3rd annual Nevis Sports Museum week got off to an impressive start on Monday 8th July at the Museum.

The opening ceremony was chaired by Curtis Morton, Communications Officer within the Ministry of Social Development who gave an outline of the week of activities and highlighted the individual achievements of the local sporting heroes being honored this year.

The feature address was delivered by Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sports, Mr. Keith Glasgow and he was in the pink of form.

He noted that Nevis and Nevisians has made it a habit overtime, of being trail blazers, ‘always being the first to do something really great.’ He alluded to the achievements of Alexander Hamilton but stressed more so on the achievements of people like Elquemedo Willet; Ronald Powell and Kieran Powell. He also highlighted the fact that Nevis per capita, has placed the greatest number of international players on the West Indies Cricket team.

He also saluted former Minister of Sports, Mr. Loughton Brandy for the initiative of the Sports Museum.

Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education and Principal Education Officer, Mrs. Lornette Queeley-Connor was also in fine form and stunned everyone by indicating that she also played Netball competitively at UWI. Her team even won a game with her being the goal attack. She was however careful not to mention how many goals she scored.

She stressed on the value and the link between Sports and Education and noted that the two do not have to compete against each other but instead can help to complement each other.

NAAA chief Lester Blackett then highlighted some of the achievements of the late sporting star, Tesril Nisbett and noted that a scholarship is being arranged in her honor. He also noted that a web page has been developed to her memory and can be accessed at ( naaa.com).

CCC Bath United Football Club President, Mr. Alex Claxton also paid sterling tribute to the late Tesril Nisbett who was a former outstanding member of the club. He along with other club members also officially retired the jersey and boots of the late female Football star and javelin thrower, to the care of the Museum.

Also present at the ceremony were most of the honorees for the week; Asst. Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sports, MS Michelle Liburd, members of the general public and school children.

The sporting heroes and heroines will be available on a daily basis for signing of autographs during the course of the week from 9 am to 10 am as follows:

Monday 8th July—Ronald Powell, Raphael Wallace and Clifford Salween

Tuesday 9th July—Meritzer Williams; Tameka Wells and Tanika Liburd

Wednesday 10th July—Natasha Nisbett-Sutton; Latasha Shantel Isles; Masefield Nisbett and Winston Crooke

Thursday 11th July—Colin Lazarus; Mickey Mills and Virgil Browne

Friday 12th July—A day dedicated to the memory of fallen sporting heroes such as Tesril Nisbett and Cicely Grell Hull. It is also a day when members of the general public can bring pictures and artifacts to add to the Museum’s collection.

You might also like