Antigua and Barbuda-2014 LICA Champions

Antigua and Barbuda was officially crowned the LICA one day champions for 2014, when they defeated St.Kitts in a close game by just 10 runs.

The grand final match was played at the Little Bay Playing field in Montserrat, on Sunday 2nd November.

The St.Kitts team won the toss and elected to give the Antigua/Barbuda team first strike.

The Antigua/Barbuda team struggled to get the ball away on a slow pitch and eventually got to 181 in their allotted 45 overs.

When the St.Kitts team batted, they found the going equally dicey and at one point were on 81 for 5.

However, a couple of crucial partnerships toward the tail end of the innings, saw them getting within ten runs of the target, when the 45th over was bowled.

Summarized scores:
Antigua and Barbuda: 181 in 45 overs: Odelmo Peters 34; Gavin Williams 26; Austin Richards Jr 24; Sylvester Joseph 22
Shane Jeffers and Jacques Taylor got 3 wickets each
St.Kitts: 171 for 9 from 45: Jeremiah Louis 49*; Akeem Saunders 32; Steve Liburd 30
Hayden Walsh Jr 3 for 18
Antigua and Barbuda won by 10 runs

You might also like