CCM Political Leader Vance Amory Among Four Of The Five Members Who Signed The Constituency Boundaries Commission Report

Basseterre, St. Kitts, September 12th 2013 (CUOPM) – Four of the five members of the Constituency Boundaries Commission signed the Report which was submitted to the Governor General, His Excellency Sir Edmund Lawrence last week.

This was disclosed by the Hon. Marcella Liburd, one of the members of the Commission in a statement during the tabling of the Constituency Boundaries Report by the Prime Minister, the Right Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas.

Ms. Liburd told the St. Kitts and Nevis National Assembly and the Nation, that the Hon. Vance Amory (CCM), an opposition parliamentarian and one of the two members appointed by the Leader of the Opposition, the Hon. Mark Brantley (CCM) signed the Report. Mr. Amory is also the Premier of Nevis and the Political Leader of the Concerned Citizens Movement.

Also signing the Report, were government nominees, the Hon. Marcella Liburd (Labour) and the Hon. Dr. Earl Asim Martin (Labour) appointed by the Prime Minister and the Chairman, Mr. Peter Jenkins, appointed by the Governor General in August 2012.

“The Honourable Vincent Byron (the People’s Action Movement (PAM) senator, who was appointed by the Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Mark Brantley) said he could not sign the report, but 4 out of the 5 persons on the Commission signed the report,” Ms. Liburd said.

“So it was very interesting for me, when I heard today that some matters were filed in the High Court and one of the applicants was the Honourable Mark Brantley, when (one his nominees) the Honourable Vance Amory signed the report,” said Ms. Liburd.

She said it was also interesting that the Honourable Sam Condor (a member of the Unity construct and an opposition parliamentarian) is not one of the Applicants in the Court matter.

Ms. Liburd commended the Chairman, Mr. Peter Jenkins, “who I thought did an excellent job and all members of the Commission who were very active and engaged, whether in support or opposition on certain proposals that were put forward during the time that we debated.”

The Constituency Boundaries Commission, which met several times, received proposals from the St. Kitts Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP), the Nevis Reformation Party (NRP), the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) and the National Integrity Party (NIP).

There were no proposals from the People’s Action Movement or the Honourable Sam Condor or the Honourable Timothy Harris, both of the People’s Labour Party (PLP).

You might also like