CFU actions commitment with multiple initiatives

President Anthony Johnson of SKNFA

ZIZ Sports…Jan 16 2012 – President of the St. Kitts Nevis Football Association, Lawyer Anthony Johnson has been selected to a committee as part of the CFU restructuring efforts.

Mr. Anthony Johnson is one of six members selected on the CFU Legal Committee.

The Caribbean Football Union’s (CFU) Normalisation Committee demonstrates its commitment to reuniting, restructuring, reforming and rebranding the CFU by actioning three committees. “The committees are charged with advising the Normalisation Committee with regards to certain specific matters,” said Jeffrey Webb, President of the Cayman Islands Football Association and Chairman of the Normalisation Committee. “These are working groups that will oversee financial, legal and football matters in the interim until the CFU Ordinary Congress in May 2012.” said Mr. Webb.

Mr. Larry Mussenden, President of the Bermuda Football Association will serve as the Chairman of the CFU Legal Committee and the main focus of the Committee will be to conduct a review of the CFU statutes and the incorporation of the CFU in a jurisdiction within the Caribbean. The members of the Legal Task Force are Hally Haynes (Barbados), Bruce Blake (Cayman Islands), Osiris Guzman (Dominican Republic), Emmanuel Cantave (Haiti), Horace Reid (Jamaica) and Anthony Johnson (St. Kitts-Nevis).

Mr. Luis Hernandez, President of the Asociación de Fútbol de Cuba will serve as the Chairman of the CFU Football Committee. This committee will focus on the footballing aspect of the CFU to ensure the smooth operation of CFU tournaments which include qualification to the CONCACAF Champions’ League and the Digicel Caribbean Cup.

The Football Committee will also be responsible for drafting a development plan for the CFU for the period 2012 – 2015 and conducting a review of the CFU competitions format. The members include: Gordon Derrick (Antigua-Barbuda), Rufo Kelly (Aruba), David Sabir (Bermuda), Alain Soreze (Guadeloupe), Franklin Wilson (Guyana), Carlo Marcelin (Haiti), and Maurice Victoire (Martinique).

Mr. Cheney Joseph, President of the Grenada Football Association will serve as Chairman of the CFU Finance Committee and will be assisted by Mr. Canover Watson, who is a Chartered Professional Accountant.

The Finance Committee will conduct a review of the CFU’s financial status, provide clarity as to the revenues and obligations of the CFU, and make recommendations with regard to sponsorship internal controls and the proper administration of the CFU among other things. “I’m very pleased with this initiative and looking forward to my charge of ensuring transparency, governance and compliance to the CFU on behalf of regional football.” said Mr. Joseph. Assisting Mr. Joseph on this Task Force are Anton Sealy (Bahamas), Eric Labrador (Puerto Rico), Lyndon Cooper (St. Lucia), Louis Giskus (Suriname), Richard Groden (Trinidad & Tobago) and Sonia Bien-Aime (Turks & Caicos Islands) The CFU is the region’s governing football body with 30 countries comprising its membership and was founded in January 1978.

You might also like