Champion Schools Awarded

(ZIZ News) – The winning schools and top players who participated in the various school tournaments were, on Wednesday, recognised by the Ministry of Sports.

This was done through the 2015 Department of Sports Prize Giving and Closing Ceremony, held at the Pam Tyson Netball Complex.

Awards were presented to winners of the 2015 High School Netball and Primary School Football tournaments, the Under-14 Football Competition, the Female High School Football Tournament, the Venezuelan Mini Marathon and the High Schools Football Open Competition.

Minister of Sports, the Hon. Shawn Richards used the occasion to commend the students on their commitment to both academic and athletic excellence.

“My congratulations are extended to all award winners in this year’s sports awards ceremony. It is very apparent from a review of performances during the first term that our Federation’s primary and secondary athletes are performing well beyond perceived limits of age and size,” Minister Richards said.

The Charles E. Mills Secondary School is the winner of the Open Males Under-14 Football and Netball competitions; the Cayon High School is the winner of the Open Males, Female Football and Netball tournaments while the Verchild’s High School won the Under-14 Football Tournament.

The Beach Allen Primary School was awarded for winning the Primary Schools Football Competition, with Irish Town Primary placing second and Bronte Welsh Primary finishing in third place.

You might also like