Conaree FC Wins FA Cup

Basseterre, St Kitts, May 15, 2013: Conaree FC is the SKNFA 2013 FA Cup Champions. The Club won the championship by defeating arch rivals, Delphic Newtown FC, 6 goals to 5. At full time the score was 1 -1, Glen Samuel scored for Conaree. The gods were not satisfied, so they dictated a nail-biting penalty shoot-out. The boys in green and yellow (Conaree team) hit the nets five (5) consecutive times, and sent the boys from the East home to lick their wounds and ponder on what might have been.

On their way to the championship Conaree defeated 2011 FA champions Rams Village Superstars FC, and 2012 FA Champions S L Horsfords St Pauls FC. This run of success for the boys in green and yellow follows their historic achievement in June 2012 (football season 2011-12), playing for the first time ever in the Premier Division Finals. It was that same team that won the first ever SKNFA 5-a-Side tournament in 2011, and Sugar Mas Cup in 2010.

Success did not come overnight. Conaree underwent significant changes during the last 5 – 7 years. Club management was re-organised, player development was instituted, team preparation was sharpened, and qualified coaches were installed. Today, Conaree FC boast of having one of the most experienced and qualified coaches in the Federation, Alexis (Isiah) Morris, European (UEFA) B license holder and former national team coach. It has a crop of youthful, skilled players who bring flare and passion to their game. But very importantly, the club has provided a number of players to national teams of all age groups, among the more prominent are: Errol O’Loughlin – vice captain and mid-fielder, Mudassa Howe – defender, Stedroy ‘Quaw’ Charles – captain and defender and Delroy Delaney – goal keeper.

But no team is complete without a loyal and passionate band of supporters. The easterly sea breeze, and the lingering scents from the sugar days of old swell their passion and drive them to propel their players and team to higher heights. Undoubtedly, they represent the indomitable spirits of their community, and the yearnings of every footballing community throughout the Federation.

Coach Morris is immensely proud of his team, and the support of the other members of his technical staff and the club management. While each contributed handsomely to this championship, he singled out players: Marvin Charles, Byun Morson, Glenroy Samuel, Stedroy Charles, Shawn Martin, Mudassa Howe and new signing Adrian Samuel (goalkeeper) for their outstanding work.

The FA championship team was comprised of:
• Stedroy Charles – captain
• Mudassa Howe
• Marvin Charles
• Shawn Martin
• Michael Samuel
• Byun Morson
• Andy Samuel
• Azim Barzey
• Glenroy Samuel
• Kedeen Lewis
• Errol O’Loughlin
• Wazim Howe
• Delroy Delaney
• Lajaune Byron
• Andre Matthews
• KeyShawn Francis
• Eddison Isaac
• Tristan Samuel
• Adrian Samuel
• Justin Codrington

Technical Staff
• Alexis Morris – Head Coach
• Samuel Phipps – Asst & Goalkeeper Coach
• George Noland – Manager
• Danielle Morton – Asst Manager
• Delwayne Delaney – Trainer
• Mavis Lewis – Physio

Conaree FC, no longer contenders, now Champions.

You might also like