Constituency Two Elects An Executive

September 2nd, 2020 (Basseterre, St. Kitts) – Three weeks ago the bell rang in Central Basseterre and just like that election was in the air again. After a brief nomination and campaign period the time had come to cast the votes.

On 2nd September, upwards of fifty (50) registered voters of constituency number two descended upon the headquarters of the People’s Action Movement to elect the executive that would assiduously assist the Hon. Jonel Powell over the next twelve-month period.

The top two positions of Chairman and Deputy Chairman were contested while the other positions saw candidates running unopposed. Outgoing Chairman Levar Flanders-Tross, went up against Mr. Dario Morton for the Chairman’s position. Surprisingly, the position of Deputy Chairman was quite heavily contested and featured a three-female battle royale. Offering themselves for service were the outgoing deputy Chair Sharina Laws and newcomers Venetia Williams and Deandra Carey. All five of these candidates gave passionate presentations in an attempt to earn the votes of the very attentive constituents.

When the dust had settled, and the votes were tallied the Chairman and Deputy Chairman’s positions both featured new faces in the persons of Dario Morton and Venetia Williams respectively. Dario Morton, as incoming Chairman, thanked the constituents for their support and pledged to lead an Executive that would always be hard at work for the betterment of Constituency 2.

Area Parliamentary Representative, Hon. Jonel Powell, made brief remarks to close the evening’s event. The Hon. Minister thanked the constituents for their time and attendance at the elections. He further offered his heartfelt appreciation to all those who were nominated and answered the call to serve. The Minister closed his remarks by congratulating the newly elected Executive on their appointments and told them how much he looked forward to working alongside them to continue creating a stronger, safer Central Basseterre.
A special and most sincere thank you is extended to the outgoing Chair, Mr Levar Flanders-Tross and outgoing Deputy Chair, Ms. Sharina Laws who would have served with integrity, passion and honour. The new PAM executive for constituency two is as follows:

Chairperson – Dario Morton
Deputy Chairperson – Venetia Williams
Secretary – Claudia Harley
Treasurer – Hazel Webster
Public Relations Officer – Shalloyda Hewlett
Assistant Secretary/Treasurer – Mervin Hazel
Nominated Members –
Andrea Mckoy
Kim Phipps
Deandra Carey

You might also like