Culturama 40 Chairpersons Announced

(ZIZ)– The 40th edition of Nevis’ Culturama Festival, dubbed “C40” has revealed the names of its committee chairpersons.

In recent weeks, the committee has rolled out the names of some of its chairpersons, but on Monday April 7th, during an interview with ZIZ’s Jaedee Caines, Executive Director Antonio Liburd made the official announcement.

“We have Kandor Freeman who is the chair of the Ms. Culture Queen Pageants’ subcommittee. We have Vaughn Anslyn chairing the Mr. Kool subcommittee for this year. We have Keith Glasgow chairing the calypso: junior and senior, and also, he is the judges’ coordinator. Karen Amory heads up the Cultural Street Fair subcommittee. Seba Jones – Junior Street Parade, Rohan Isles – the Adult Street Parade, Ricky Hill – street activities. Patrick Howell heads up the Band Clash sub-committee.”

Former Ms. Culture Queen Shirley Wilkes, will again coordinate the Mr. and Ms. Talented Youth Pageant while Lorna Hunkins serves as Financial Comptroller and Huey Sargeant as head of the Marketing and Public Relations Committee.

According to Liburd, the Festival’s Secretariat will secure sponsors for the celebration and Jean Caines will serve as the committee’s secretary.

Liburd also used the opportunity to comment on some of the early changes made to the line-up.

“The Mr. and Ms. Talented Youth Pageant, which is usually staged on the Thursday before the Emancipation Day weekend, would now be staged on the Sunday, that is Sunday July 27th and it would be twinned with the Junior Kaiso competition, which for many years, was held on the opening night of Culturama,” Liburd stated.

Culturama 40, Nevis’ summer festival, would be held under the theme “Revelry, Splendor, Creativity. Culturama 40!”

You might also like