Four uncapped players named in Windies 20 man training squad

CricketFilePhotoHSt. John’s, Antigua CMC — Four uncapped players have been included in a 20 man West Indies squad chosen to start a training camp in Antigua ahead of the International Home Test Series against England, starting next month.

The uncapped quartet is Carlos Brathwaite, fellow fast bowler Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich and fellow wicketkeeper/batsman Shai Hope.

They along with the spin bowling pair of Devendra Bishoo and Veerasammy Permaul, who earned a recall, were the only members of the squad not selected in the previous Test series against South Africa which ended in January.

Left-handed batsman Darren Bravo has recovered from the injury that ended his participation at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 early.

The training camp will begin on April 5 and culminate with preparation for the first Test, starting on Monday, April 13, at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground.

Squad: Sulieman Benn, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sheldon Cottrell, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Leon Johnson, Veerasammy Permaul, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Devon Smith, Jerome Taylor.

You might also like