Government stands firm in naming the Sandy Point High School after life-long educator Charles E. Mills, says PM Douglas

New wing of the Sandy Point High School (photo by Erasmus Williams)

ST. KITTS, AUGUST 26TH 2010 (CUOPM) – St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas is standing firm by his government’s decision to name the 42-year-old Sandy Point High School after a life-long educator and former parliamentarian.

“There seems to be some controversy that has been brewing on the Cabinet’s acceptance of the request that was made by several persons to name the Sandy Point High School after the late Hon. Charles Egbert Mills, a proud Sandy Pointer,” Dr. Douglas said in the closing out his weekly radio call in programme “Ask the Prime Minister” on Tuesday.

Dr. Douglas pointed out that the Sandy Point High School serves the communities of Parsons, Dieppe Bay, St. Paul’s, Newton Ground, Sandy Point, New Guinea and Half Way Tree.

“The Government did not jump to that conclusion to name the school after Mr. Mills by pulling something out of a hat. It was a request that came to our Government, our Cabinet by several persons. We deliberated upon it and a decision was taken eventually to proceed,” said Prime Minister Douglas, who said part of the problem is that many persons may not know who Charles Mills is.

He pointed out that Charles Egbert Mills was born in Sandy Point, who at a very tender age excelled academically and became one of the youngest teachers in the country.

The Sandy Point High School is one of six public secondary schools on St. Kitts. The others are the Basseterre High School, the Washington Archibald High School, the Verchild’s High School, the Saddlers High School and the Cayon High School.

You might also like