Hon. Marcella Liburd is Acting Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis

Acting Prime Minister the Hon. Marcella Liburd (photo by Erasmus Williams)

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, MARCH 7TH 2013 (CUOPM) – Minister of Health, Community and Social Development, Culture and Gender Affairs, the Hon. Marcella Liburd is Acting Prime Minister.

This has been disclosed by Cabinet Secretary, Mr. Joseph Edmeade.

“With the absence from the Federation of Prime Minister the Rt. Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas and Deputy Prime Minister, the Hon. Dr. Earl Asim Martin, the Hon. Marcella Liburd has been appointed to Act as Prime Minister,” Mr. Edmeade, told the Communications Unit in the Office of the Prime Minister.

Prime Minister Douglas is leading a delegation to Venezuela to attend Friday’s State Funeral of the late President of Venezuela, His Excellency Hugo Chavez.

Dr. Douglas is among several Heads of State and Governments from around the world in Venezuela to attend the meeting.

The Associated Press Thursday published a list of world leaders to attend the state funeral:

– Antigua and Barbuda: Prime Minister Baldwin Spencer

-Aruba: Prime Minister Michiel Godfried Eman

-Argentina: President Cristina Fernandez

-Belarus: President Alexander Lukashenko

-Bolivia: President Evo Morales

-Brazil: President Dilma Rousseff

-Chile: President Sebastian Pinera

-Curacao: Prime Minister Daniel Hodge

-Dominica: Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit

-Dominican Republic: President Danilo Medina

-Ecuador: President Rafael Correa

-El Salvador: President Mauricio Funes

-Guyana: President Donald Ramotar

-Haiti: President Michel Martelly

-Haiti: Prime Minister Laurent Lamothe

-Honduras: President Porfirio Lobo

-Iran: President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad

-Jamaica: Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller

-Mexico: President Enrique Pena Nieto

-Nicaragua: President Daniel Ortega

-Panama: President Ricardo Martinelli

-Peru: President Ollanta Humala

-St. Kitts and Nevis: Prime Minister Denzil Douglas

-St. Lucia: Prime Minister Kenny Anthony

-St. Vincent and the Grenadines: Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves

-Suriname: President Desi Bouterse

-Trinidad and Tobago: Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar

-Uruguay: President Jose Mujica

You might also like