Jennifer Nero appointed first female WICB Director -President Hunte hails historic appointment

Jennifer Nero

St John’s, Antigua May 19 2011 – The West Indies Cricket Board has created history by appointing Mrs. Jennifer Nero as the first female to the Board of Directors.

“This Board of Directors is honoured to now have at the highest decision making body of West Indies cricket the counsel and advice from the critically important female perspective,” Dr. Julian Hunte, President of the WICB outlined.

“We welcome Mrs. Nero to the Board and look forward to her astute and professional contributions as we continue to work towards moving West Indies cricket forward,” Dr Hunte added.

Mrs. Nero who has been elected for a two year term as non-member Director commented: “It is with great pleasure that I humbly accept my appointment by the Board of Directors of the WICB and I thank the Board for affording me the privilege to serve our regional community.”

“I look forward to working with the Board and hope to make a useful contribution to this prestigious regional institution,” Mrs. Nero added.

Mrs. Nero is a native of St. Kitts & Nevis and is the Managing Director of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank, a position she has held since 2005.

An accountant by training Mrs. Nero is a former Director of Internal Audit of the ECCB which she joined in 1994.

Mrs. Nero previously served in the cricketing fraternity as a Board Member for the ICC Cricket World Cup West Indies 2007.

She holds a Certified Public Accountant certificate from the state of Maryland in the United States in addition to an Advanced Management Program Certificate from the Harvard Business School and also completed the Oxford Strategic Leadership Programme Certificate.

Mrs. Nero graduated from the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland in the United States with a MBA Degree in Information Technology. Her Degree in Accounting was attained from the Southeastern University in Washington, DC.

She was a member of the St. Kitts National Netball team and represented the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis in the World Netball Tournament in 1979.

Board of Directors:
Dr. Julian R. Hunte – President, Whycliffe ‘Dave’ Cameron – Vice President, Prof. Hilary Beckles, Paul Campbell, Elson Crick, Joel Garner, Enoch Lewis, Clive Lloyd, Baldath Mahabir, Emmanuel Nanthan, Jennifer Nero, Clifford Reis, Conde Riley, Dr. Allen Sammy, Anand Sanasie, Gregory Shillingford, Chetram Singh, Lyndel Wright

You might also like