Malcolm Guishard Basketball League 2011 – off and dunking!

The Hon. Joseph Parry’s Cotton Ground Rebels (CG Rebels) were off to a winning start in the 2011 Malcolm Guishard Basketball League. The defending champions had to clear a major challenge from the home town boys, the Church Ground Massives (CG Massives).

They however prevailed with a 21 to 18 score line in an exciting finale which saw the home team receiving massive support from their home based fan club.

The evening commenced with a brief opening ceremony, chaired by Ms. Wanda Parry, President of the Nevis Basketball Association. She delivered the opening prayer and then the competing teams led out with a lusty rendition of the national anthem.

Welcome remarks were then given by Ms. Parry. This was followed by brief remarks from chief sponsor of the league, the Hon. Mark Brantley who noted that he was sponsoring the tournament for the fifth year and that CG Rebels would have won on all four previous occasions. He challenged the other teams to get jealous and to make every effort to get their names written on the grand trophy this year, by defeating the renowned team out of Cotton Ground.

Special Advisor within the Ministry of Social Development, Mr. Halstead ‘Sooty’ Byron represented the Minister of Sports, Hon. Hensley Daniel who was unavoidably absent. He was high in praise for the efforts of President Wanda Parry and her entire team for their efforts in keeping the game of Basketball alive on the island.

He also commended the Hon. Mark Brantley for his kind sponsorship and noted that any form of sponsorship during these critically difficult financial times, must receive high commendation. He also wished all of the teams every success as he officially declared the league open.

Ms. Parry then delivered the vote of thanks and after a five minutes break, the teams engaged in an intense knock out competition.

The following are the results:

First Knock Out Game

Ghetto Starz vs Craddock Road Rising Starz. Ghetto Starz won 15 to Craddock Road 7.

Ghetto Starz Craddock Road
Trevor Arthurton and Kelvin Bramble 4 pts Shaquille Isles 3 pts
Matthew Harding 3 pts Elroy Clarke and Leston Nisbett 2 pts
Dio and Mackenzie Hendrickson 2 pts

Second Knock Out Game

C G Massive vs PJ’s. C G Massive won 9 to 7 PJ’s

C G Massive PJ’s
Bernard Patrick 4 points Kejel Tyson 4 points
Krishna Escamilla 3 points Marvin Hercules 2 points
Warren Bussue 2 points Jeffrey Lewis 1 point

Third Knock Out Game

C G Rebels vs Neglect/Customs. C G Rebels won 22 points to zero Nevlec/Customs

C G Rebels
Royden Browne, Dillon Weeks and Justin Jeffers 6 points each
Jenerson France 4 points

The winner from the first two Knock Out Games played.

C G Massive vs Ghetto Starz. C G Massive won 23 to 19 Ghetto Starz.

C G Massive Ghetto Starz
Bernard Patrick 11 points Dwayne Warner 8 points
Kirthni Esdaille 6 points Kelvin Bramble 5 points
Warren Bussue 4 points Trevor Arthurton, Matthew Harding and Dio Hendrickson 2
Sheldon Lawrence 2 points

The winner of the third Knock Out team played the winner of the game above—in the grand finals.

C G Rebels vs C G Massive. C G Rebels won 21 to 18 C G Massive.

C G Rebels C G Massive
Jenerson France 12 points Warren Bussue and Bernard Patrick 5 points
Royden Browne 6 points Kirthni Esdaille 4 points
Dellon Weeks 3 points Lester Liburd and Sheldon Lawrence 2 points

C G Rebels won the Hon. Malcolm Guishard Basketball Knock out Competition.

The first official game of the league will be played on Tuesday 18th October at 7:00pm at the Church Ground Hard Court when C G Massive takes on Craddock Road Rising Starz

Games will be played on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays. Rained out games will be played on the next available Monday or Wednesday.

You might also like