Nevis Solid Waste Management Authority has new Board of Directors

NIA CHARLESTOWN NEVIS (October 14, 2019) — The Nevis Solid Waste Management Authority has a new Board of Directors. The announcement was made during the installation ceremony on October 14, 2019, at the Ministry of Communication’s conference room at the Nevis Island Administration’s office in Charlestown.

Hon. Hazel Brandy-Williams, Junior Minister of Health noted that the new body will run the affairs of the Authority for the next two years. She acknowledged the group had the necessary experience for advancing matters pertaining to the Nevis Solid Waste Management Authority. She thanked them for consenting to be a part of the authority’s decision making body.

“I am indeed pleased to have you as the new board and I would want to say on behalf of the Premier who is the senior minister of Health and Gender Affairs how thankful and grateful we are to you for accepting the invitation to serve at this level. So once again thank you very much and welcome,” she said.

The minister named Mr. St. Clair Wallace as the Chairman of the Board.

“Mr. Wallace would have been instrumental in the formation of the initial Solid Waste Board some almost 15 years ago and so, he would have had intimate relationships with the donors, with the agencies who were instrumental in giving the guidance to the Ministry of Health back then, in terms of putting this board and the solid waste mandate together for Nevis.

Another member Mrs. Brandy-Williams is Mr. Oscar Browne. She described him as is a community activist who is very passionate about matters of state as it pertains to the advancement of Nevis.

According to Mrs. Brandy-Williams, the other members of the board are, “Ms. Latoya Jeffers comes to us as a person who is from the Department or the Ministry of Education but her background really is in Science and the Environment, and so she too comes with a wealth of knowledge in that area.

The Minister welcomed other members.  

“Mrs. [Kimberly Hanley]-Bello is our legal person at the Legal Department. She has worked with us on a number of legal matters which we were very successful in advancing, and so we welcome Mrs. Bello as well; and then Mr. Anthony Webbe, a person who would have served at the Department of Environmental Health for a number of years,” she said.

The minister apologized on behalf of one member who was absent at the ceremony.

“I would like to make an apology on behalf of Ms. Camille Kelly for her absence here this morning. She is the next person for the board. Camille is an Architect by profession and she comes, as well, with a passion for the environment and the upkeep of the environment,” she said.

Mr. Andrew Hendrickson, Manager of the Nevis Solid Waste Management Authority; Mrs. Shelisa Martin-Clarke the Acting Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health and Gender Affairs; and Mr. Rudy Browne the Operations Manager at the Nevis Solid Waste Management Authority will also serve as board members.

You might also like