Nevis takes Honours in Montseratt

CricketFilePhotoASports Page — Despite a rocky start to their weekend tour to Montserrat to commence their first leg of the 2014, Leeward Islands senior cricket Championship, the Nevis team came out head and shoulders above the home team in the three day match played on Thursday 2nd and Friday 3rd October and the one day encounter played on Sunday 5th October.

In the scheduled three day three day match which really only lasted for two days, Montserrat batted first and compiled a meager 94 all out with left arm leg spinner Junie Williams being the main destroyer of their innings.

Nevis was then bowled out for 294 with Justin Athanaze, Tonito Willet and Akito Willet, all getting half centuries, with debutant Ross Powell, just missing out by a single run.

Montserrat needing 200 runs to avoid an innings defeat, was bowled out in their second turn at crease for 195. This time around, left arm leg spinner Jason Campbell was the main wrecker of the innings with a six wicket haul.

Summarized scores: Montserrat 94: Roscoe St.Clair 26; Jason Peters 18
Junie Williams 4 for 24; Tonito Willet 2 for 0; Jason Campbell 2 for 9;
Adelvin Phillip 1 for 27; Kezron Archibald 1 for 29;
Nevis 294 all out: Justin Athanaze 80; Akito Willet 53; Tonito Willet 51; Ross Powell 49; Wasim Mintos 24
Tevin Osbourne 4 for 49; McPherson Meade 2 for 29;
Quinton Boatswain 1 for 18; Jemuel Cabey 1 for 49;
Montserrat: 195 all out: Dalston Tuit 111;
Jason Campbell 6 for 43; Akito Willet 2 for 30; Kezron Archibald 1 for 38
Nevis winning by an innings and 5 runs

In the one day encounter played on Sunday 5th October, Nevis looked in dire straits when they were bowled out for a paltry 146, batting first.

However, their bowlers and fielders defended the total stoutly and the Montserrat team was dismissed for just 101 after a promising start.

Summarized scores: Nevis 148 all out: Tonito Willet 45; Wasim Mintos 27; Justin Athanaze 22
Brian Stephanie 4 wickets; Lionel Baker 2; Dino Baker 2
Montserrat 101 all out: McPherson Meade 53
Justin Athanaze 4 wickets; Jason Campbell 2; Philo Wallace; Theron Bussue and Tonito Willet got 1 wicket each
Nevis won by 47 runs

You might also like