New term of Nevis Island Assembly begins

ZIZ News…Sept 12, 2011 – Several persons including family and supporters of members of the ruling Nevis Reformation Party turned out on Monday morning September 12, 2011 to witness the start of the new term.

Nevis Island Assembly opening session

NRP Leader, Premier Joseph Parry, and his four Cabinet colleagues were sworn in shortly before nominating a new President of the Assembly.

Mrs. Christine Springette, received unanimous support and was sworn in as the new President of the legislative body. Besides elected members Hensley Daniel (LoGB) and Robelto Hector, the following nominated members were sworn in: Carlisle Powell and Dwight Cozier.

Deputy Governor General Eustace John presented the Throne Speech at 10:45am following a Royal Salute and his inspection of the Guard of Honour.

According to a report out of Nevis, the Opposition benches were empty with the opposition elected members Vance Amory or Alexis Jeffers absent.

The Assembly’s gallery was filled with family members, loved ones, supporters of the ruling Party, and other officials.

You might also like