NRP sworn in; CCM supporters protest

CCM supporters outside swearing in ceremony

ZIZ NEWSROOM, Basseterre, July 13, 2011 – The second term NRP Administration was sworn in on Tuesday evening at the Elquemedo Willet Park following its success at the polls on Monday.

The five Cabinet members are the Hon. Joseph Parry as Chairman and Premier, the Hon. Hensley Daniel, the Hon. Robelto Hector, Senator Carlisle Powell, and Senator Dwight Cozier.

The ruling NRP was returned to office following Monday’s Election winning three of the five elected positions up for grabs. The NRP also secured the popular national vote with 3,757 votes, an increase of 863 votes when compared to its level of support in 2006. Although the opposition had the minority national support in 2011 securing 3,722, it too received an increase in support since 2006 of 672.

However, while the candidates were being sworn in, a group of CCM supporters congregated at the site of the swearing under the leadership of Vance Amory. Earlier Amory had stated that he would not concede defeat and that protest would be the first of several plans they have in mind to show their disagreement with the outcome.

Prime Minister Douglas and Premier Parry called for calm. Premier Parry said that he understands defeat but that they must not take it personally. He said we must try to move forward as Nevisians and Kittitians for the betterment of all.

You might also like