Observer Teams to monitor elections in Guyana and St. Lucia

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, NOVEMBER 25TH 2011 – Three nationals of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis are among Observer Teams to monitor next Monday’s General Elections in both St. Lucia and Guyana.

President of the Clarence Fitzroy Bryant College (CFBC), Mrs. Hermia Morton Anthony is among a 22-member Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Electoral Observer Mission to the Guyana Elections.

Manager of the St. Kitts and Nevis Electoral Office, Mr. Oliver Knight is on the 15-member Commonwealth Observer Mission to Guyana, while former St. Kitts and Nevis Supervisor of Elections, Mr. Eugene Petty, is a member of the CARICOM Team monitoring the poll in St. Lucia.

The CARICOM Secretariat said its team in Georgetown is led by Hensley Robinson Chief Elections Officer of Barbados, who was also Chief of the Electoral Observer Mission at the last General Elections in Guyana in 2006.

The Deputy Chief of Mission is Lorna Simon, Chief Elections Officer of Antigua and Barbuda. Other members are from Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and the CARICOM Secretariat.

Mr. Oliver Knight, Elections Expert, is in the 15-member Commonwealth Observer group led by former Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Secretary General and former Minister of Conservation, Forestry and Lands of New Zealand, Denis Marshall.

The other members are from Bangladesh, Canada, Ghana, India, Dominica, Kenya; Nigeria, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Trinidad and Tobago and the United Kingdom.

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Observer Mission to elections in St. Lucia on 28th November 2011 is a 10-member team headed by Chief of Mission, Ambassador Rudy Collins of Guyana. Deputy Chief of Mission is Mr. Eugene Petty of St. Kitts and Nevis.

The other members are from Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.

You might also like