Opportunity paves way to serve Nevis meaningfully, says new NTA Board Chairman

New Chairman of the Nevis Tourism Authority’s Board of Directors Mr. Greg Phillip

NIA CHARLESTOWN NEVIS (MARCH 05, 2013) — New Chairman of the Nevis Tourism Authority’s (NTA) Board of Directors for the next two years Mr. Greg Phillip, says the opportunity paved the way for both him and other members to serve Nevis in a meaningful way.

Mr. Philip was at the time delivering brief remarks, moments after the eight-member Board of volunteer Directors was introduced by Deputy Premier and Minister of Tourism in the Nevis Island Administration (NIA) Hon. Mark Brantley. The event was held at the NTAs board room in Charlestown on March 04, 2013.

“I would like to say that our tenure on the Board is going to be marked by all the things that we are going to be able to accomplish. We are going to come up with a plan that would comprise of a number of milestones that we are going to reach; a number of milestones that we are going to have to attain if tourism in Nevis is going to be successful.

“We are going to approach those in a more systematic way and in a way that is going to be obvious in the results that makes sure we grow tourism in Nevis. Additionally, we have quite a bit to offer, I think Nevis does when it comes to tourism and those are the things we are going to help to bring out and enhance for the benefit of all of us here in Nevis,” he said.

Mr. Phillip told his fellow Board members he was pleased they had consented to serve like he had and as such was made up of individuals who all had varying backgrounds in the tourism industry.

“One of the things I am defiantly glad for is the diversity we have here on the Board with people from varying parts of the Tourism Sector and people from varying backgrounds. I think that is what’s going to make us successful as a Board. Successful [in] creating opportunities for people in Nevis working in tourism and for Nevis in general…

“So with that I would like to say… I am glad that you too have decided to serve because in your deciding to serve, it says that we are here as a team and all of us on this team want to make a contribution and that’s a key and important thing. We are all going to go forward, knowing that we are here to make a positive contribution and we are going to work together to definitely ensure that that happens,” he said.

The other members of the NTAs Board of Directors are: Deputy Chairperson Mrs. L. Hall who is the Co-General Manager of the Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, Four Seasons Resort Nevis Manager Mr. Sven Wiedenhaupt, Restaurateur Mr. Randy Jeffers, NIA Representative and Treasurer Mr. Colin Dore, Hotelier Mr. Richard Lupinacci, Restaurateur Mr. Gary Colt and TDC Group of Companies Executive Mr. Ernie France.

You might also like