‘Passing of the Baton Ceremony’ at Warner Park on August 31st

Outgoing Commissioner of Police Mr. Austin Williams

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, AUGUST 25TH 2011 (CUOPM) – The Ceremonial Parade at which the Passing of Baton to Commissioner-designate of the Royal St. Christopher and Nevis Police Force, Mr. Celvin G. Walwyn, will take place on Wednesday 31st August.

The ceremony to transfer the leadership of the 50-year-old law enforcement agency to Mr. Walwyn begins at 4 ‘o’ clock at the Warner Park Cricket Stadium, with the arrival of the outgoing Commissioner, Nevisian-born Mr. Austin Williams, who succeeded Anguillian Mr. Robert Jeffers in February 2008.

The ceremony will be witnessed by Governor General His Excellency Dr. Sir Cuthbert Sebastian; Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Security, the Hon. Sam Condor; Federal Ministers of Government; Members of the National assembly; Deputy Governor General of Nevis, His Honour Mr. Eustace John and Mrs. John; Premier of Nevis, the Hon. Joseph Parry and Ministers in the Nevis Island Administration; Members of the Police Service Commission; senior civil servants, members of the Diplomatic and Consular Corps, family members and the general public who have also been invited to witness the Passing of the Baton Ceremony.

Commissioner of Police-designate, Mr. Celvin G. Walwyn

Outgoing Commissioner Williams, along with Incoming Commissioner Walwyn are expected to address several units of the Royal St. Christopher and Nevis Police Force who will be on parade.

Mr. Williams then delivers his farewell address as Commissioner. This will be followed by the introduction of new Commissioner Walwyn, who in turn will address the law enforcement officers.

Following the ceremony, Mr. Walwyn, who becomes the Federation’s 7th Commissioner of Police since Independence 28 years ago, will take his first salute outside the headquarters of the Royal St. Christopher and Nevis Police Force on Cayon Street.

This will be followed by a Toast to mark the transfer of the leadership of the Force at the Police Training Complex at 6:00 P.M. at which Prime Minister Douglas and National Security Minister Condor will deliver remarks.

You might also like