Pennyless All Stars-2013/2014 Tape Ball Cricket Champs on Nevis

For a fleeting moment, the Rawlins Bush Wackers looked large and in charge, as Carlon Smithen smashed the bowling to all parts of the Park and then some.

His huge maximums did not seem to sap a lot of energy.  One that went sailing towards Reliable Motors appeared to be a mere flick of the wrists and the Pennyless All stars men were obviously rattled..

They turned to their most experienced campaigner, Tonito Willet and he immediately fooled Smithen with a slower ball and after a few defensive shots Smithen again charged at him, only to offer a simple catch to point and the entire All Stars team to a man, celebrated.  They knew that they had caught the big fish and form thereon, the game turned on its head and Rawlins Bush Wackers went into an uncontrollable downward slide as the procession to and from the crease continued.

It was the grand finals of the St. Kitts-Nevis Development Bank/Nevis Sports Department tape ball Cricket league which took place at the ET Willet Park on Thursday night—23rd January.

Pennyless All Stars males had batted first and after an initial struggle got some serious impetus from a scintillating innings from the veteran, Stuart Williams who prospered after an early chance to play some exquisite shots.

Akito Willet and Saeed Williams had earlier run the Bush Wackers team ragged with the fleet footedness between the creases and it took an extra special tumbling catch on the boundary by Carlon Smithen to get rid of Akito.

Summarized scores: Pennyless All Stars-113 for 5 from 10 overs: Stuart Williams 33*; Saeed Williams 25; Akito Willet 19

Webbe 2 for 40; Leslie Huggins 1 for 18; Edwards 1 for 18

Rawlins Bush Wackers: 64 for 9 from 10 overs: Carlon Smithen 24;

Tonito Willet 2 for 2; Balgobin 2 for 10; Jason Campbell 2 for 12; Gerard Charles 1 for 9

Pennyless All stars winning by 49 runs

In game one that same evening, Pennyless All stars females defeated Rozel’s team

Summarized scores: Rozel’s team: 61 for 8: Melissa Clarke 30; extras 20

Kel Williams 3 for 7; Kerisha Powell 2 for 5

Pennyless All stars: 63 for 6 in 8.3 overs: Kel Williams 12; Kerisha Powell 10; Tasha Forrester 10*

Z. Liburd 3 for 7; Rozel Liburd 2 for 8

Pennyless All stars females won by 4 wickets

In game two Pennyless All stars males defeated Rawlins Bush Wackers

Top prizes for the league awarded as follows:

Before the games started, the official closing ceremony was held and local branch manager of the St.Kitts and Nevis development bank, Ms hyacinth Pemberton committed her institution’s continued support of the tournament and other aspects of development within the community.

Permanent Secretary within the Ministry of Sports, lauded the Sports Department for organizing the tournament and thanked The Development Bank for its significant contribution. The proceedings were chaired by Communications Officer within the Ministry of Social development, Curtis Morton

After the final match, Carl Tuckett, former West Indies all render and now regional umpire chaired the presentation ceremony.

The following presentations were made by Ms hyacinth Pemberton:

Males winners—Pennyless All Stars-$1,000.00

2nd place—Rawlins Bush Wackers–$500.00

3rd place—SDA Jets–$300.00

Female winners-Pennyless All Stars-$1,000.00

2nd place—Rozel’s team–$500.00

3rd place—Alex Stars–$300.00

MVP=Males—Tonito Willet-only century-$500.00

MVP –females—Senaldo Willet-$500.00

Best batter-males—Tonito Willet–$100.00

Best batter females—Senaldo Willet-$100.00

Best bowler males—Ravindra Balgobin-11 wickets-$100.00

Best bowler females—Kel Williams-$100.00

You might also like