Permanent Secretaries for Ministry of Police and Defence Force and Ministry of Homeland Security still to be named, primary schools get new head teachers

Minister of Education and Information, Sen, the Hon. Nigel Carty (file photo)

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, SEPTEMBER 8TH 2011 (CUOPM) – The Ministry of Education and Information has a new Permanent Secretary, but new permanent secretaries for the new Ministry of Homeland Security and the new Ministry of Police and the Defence Force are still to be named.

Minister of Information, Sen. the Hon. Nigel Carty said following discussion on the re-organisation of certain departments of government, Mrs Ionie Liburd-Willett, former Head of the Division of Teacher Education at the Clarence Fitzroy Bryant College (CFBC) has been installed as the new Permanent Secretary. Mrs. Ionie Liburd-Willett succeeds Mr. Osmond Petty who held the equivalent position for 10 years and who has had a 41 year career in the field of Education. “Mr. Petty previously had served as Education Planner, Acting Chief Education Officer, Teachers’ College Tutor and High School teacher, among other important positions in his long and illustrious career,” said Mr. Carty.

He said that the Cabinet of Ministers has also discussed impending changes in permanent secretaries and other senior positions in some government departments but these matters will be concluded upon further discussion as is customary in these important high-level executive decisions.

Mr. Carty, who is also Minister responsible for Education, informed Cabinet of changes in the headship of primary schools. At the Deane-Glasford Primary School in St. Peters, Ms Avonelle Martin has been designated Head Teacher, replacing Mrs Elsie Patrick-Leader, who has retired. At the Estridge Primary School in Mansion, Mrs. Keisha Dolphin has been designated Head, replacing, Mrs Iona Phillips who has retired, while Mrs. Jean Nisbett-Boddie takes up headship at the Irishtown Primary School.

Mr. Anthony Wiltshire, former Head Teacher of the Dr. William Connor Primary School is the new head at the Bronte-Welsh Primary School in Boyds Village. He replaces Mrs. Daun Hazel who has also retired. Ms Valencia Syder assumes headship at the Dr. William Connor Primary School.

You might also like