PM Douglas leads St. Kitts and Nevis delegation to the Inaugural OECS Assembly in Antigua and Barbuda

St. Kitts and Nevis Prime Minister the Rt. Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas signing the OECS Economic Union Treaty (Photo by Erasmus Williams)

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, AUGUST 9TH 2012 – Prime Minister the Rt. Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas leaves the Federation on Friday at the head of the twin-island delegation to the Inaugural Session of the OECS Assembly in St. John’s, Antigua on the afternoon of Friday 10th August.

The delegation and officials will join their counterparts from Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Other members of the St. Kitts and Nevis Parliamentary delegation are the Hon. Marcella Liburd (St. Christopher 2 – Labour); Dr. the Hon. Timothy Harris (St. Christopher 7 – Labour); the Hon. Eugene Hamilton (St. Christopher 8 – PAM) and the Hon. Mark Brantley (Nevis 9 – CCM).

Other officials are Attorney General and Minister of Justice and Legal Affairs, Hon. Patrice Nisbett (Nevis 9 – NRP); Speaker of the St. Kitts and Nevis National Assembly, Hon. Curtis Martin; President of the Nevis Island Assembly, Hon. Christine Springette; OECS Commissioner and Permanent Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, Her Excellency Mrs. Astona Browne; Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Elvis Newton; former Speaker, Ambassador His Excellency Mr. Walford Gumbs; Honorary Consul for St. Kitts and Nevis in Antigua, Mr. Wilbur Harrigan; Press Secretary to the Prime Minister, Mr. Erasmus Williams; Press Secretary to the Premier of Nevis, Ms. Deli Caines and Mr. Charles Jong of the Communications Unit in the Office of the Prime Minister (CUOPM).

The Ceremony begins at 4:15 p.m. with the arrival on the Parade Square of the Chairman of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States, Dr. the Hon. Ralph Gonsalves and Host Prime Minister, Dr. the Hon. Baldwin Spencer.

Following the breaking of the OECS with a fanfare, Prime Ministers Gonsalves and Spencer will inspect a Guard of honour comprising members of the Royal Antigua and Barbuda Police Force.
Escorted by the Clerk of the OECS Assembly, Mr. Kurt Thomas, the Invocation will be said by Rev. Canon Bernard Hodge.

The Rules of Procedures of the OECS Assembly will be adopted followed by the election of a Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

Statements will be made by Host Prime Minister, Dr. the Hon. Baldwin Spencer; OECS Chairman, Dr. the Hon. Ralph Gonsalves; Hon. Reuben Meade of Montserrat on behalf of Non-Independent Members and the Hon. Mark Brantley on behalf of Leaders of the Opposition.

A reception follows after an official photo.

You might also like