PM Harris Assumes Chairmanship Of ECCB Monetary Council

Basseterre, St. Kitts, July 20 2020 (ZIZ News): Prime Minister Dr. Hon Timothy Harris will assume Chairmanship of the Monetary Council of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) during a virtual Handing Over Ceremony on the 24th of July.

Prime Minister Harris will succeed the Outgoing Chairman, Dr the Right Honourable Keith Mitchell, Council Member for Grenada.

Following the virtual Handing Over Ceremony, the Council will convene for its 96 th meeting where it will receive the Governor’s Report on Money and Credit Conditions in the ECCU.

Prime Minister Harris, will present the Communiqué following which he and the Governor of the ECCB, Timothy N. J. Antoine will field questions from the media.

The Handing Over Ceremony for the Change in Chairmanship of the ECCB Monetary Council will be streamed on the ECCB’s Facebook page from 9:00 a.m.

The Monetary Council is the highest decision making authority of the ECCB and comprises the eight Ministers for Finance of the ECCB member countries: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

Chairmanship of the Council is rotated among the member countries in alphabetical order on an annual basis.

You might also like