Prime Minister Harris committed to Federation’s Growth

Basseterre, St. Kitts (SKNIS) — Dr. the Honourable Timothy Harris, Prime Minister and Minister with responsibility for Sustainable Development remains committed to the Federation’s ongoing growth, as he recently concluded an introductory meeting with the newly reconstituted Development Control and Planning Board (DCPB).

Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sustainable Development, Beverly Harris, chaired the meeting, which provided an overview of the expectations of the government and the Planning Department.

“Expectations of the Board were outlined,” Permanent Secretary Harris said. “In keeping with the act which provides for the orderly development of land in urban and rural areas, protecting the environment and improvement of amenities were also discussed.”

Ms. Harris stated that the board “touched on the need to review the legislation, the need for legal support in the face of the changing environment and the need for a public relations campaign, so the general public can be aware of what should and should not be done in terms of construction activities.”

The Board was updated on issues pending and their responsibilities according to the law. They also discussed emerging issues relevant to government and the board.

The DCPB is comprised of nine members including Chairman Calvin Pemberton, Ronald Fish, Deputy Chairman and Fitzgerald Boncamper. Randolph Edmead, Cartwright Farrell, Alex Riley, Dennison Paul and Dwight Francis serve as Ex Officio members.

The Board is expected to get assistance from the legal department, to support their deliberations.

You might also like